The shortest of all Oregon covered bridges, Lost Creek Bridge has been closed to traffic since 1979.
Many locals claim that the bridge was in fact built as early as 1878 to 1881 which would, if verified, make it the oldest standing covered bridge in Oregon.
The builder of the Lost Creek Bridge (Johnny Miller), also roofed the nearby span at Lake Creek in the 1880s, thus lending weight to this theory.
The span may have been partially or totally rebuilt in 1919, hence the official construction date in that year.
Features of the design include Queenpost trusses, a shingle roof and flying buttresses. The wooden flooring has diagonal planking.
The roof was replaced in 1985. In 1986 portal boards were added which restored the look of the span from changes originally made in 1920 to accomodate log truck traffic.
The Walch Memorial Wayside Park abuts the bridge site.
In the Christmas flood of 1964 the bridge was almost destroyed.
Travel southeast from Eagle Point on Royal Avenue to Highway 140.
Alternately, travel east on Highway 140 from Highway 62 (Crater Lake Highway).
Continue on Highway 140 to Lake Creek Loop Road.
Travel south through Lake Creek on South Fork Little Butte Creek Road.
Turn south on Lost Creek Road and continue for about a half mile.
The bridge is 4 miles south of Lake Creek.