The McKee bridge, built in 1917 Jason Hartman, spans the Aplegate River just 8 miles from the Californian border.
In use from 1917 to 1956 serving mainly mining and logging traffic. In 1956, the bridge was declared unsafe for vehicular traffic.
In 1965 the roof was restored keeping the structure open for pedestrian use.
Very little maintenance followed and during the summer of 1985, more than $40,000 in labor and materials were dedicated to repair the bridge and
keep it open for pedestrians.
Since then Jackson County announced that future investment in the bridge would be impractical, and has looked to private efforts for the preservation of the bridge.
In 1989 the McKee Committee was formed with the aim of raising $25,000 for preservation and maintenance of the bridge.
Features of the Mckee Bridge include a Howe truss design, flying buttresses, open daylighting windows at the roofline, and a shingle roof.
The McKee Picnic Ground, a Rogue National Forest facility, is at the west end of the bridge along the Applegate River.
From Medford travel west on Highway 238 through Jacksonville to Ruch.
From Ruch head south on Applegate Road for approximately 8.5 miles.