This bridge occupies a site on which a covered bridge has been in continuous use since 1890.
The local community adopted the name "McKenzie Bridge."
In 1911 the original bridge was replaced by with another covered structure.
The third covered bridge at this site was built in 1939 and was destroyed in the Christmas Flood of 1964.
The current Belknap covered bridge was opened in 1966.
Louvered windows were added to the bridge later to increase interior lighting.
Extensive repairs in 1992 and 2002 strengthened the structure, and a new roof was installed.
From Springfield take Highway 126 eastwards for approx 46 miles to McKenzie Bridge.
One mile west of the small town of Rainbow, turn south on McKenzie River Drive.
Follow McKenzie River Drive for about 0.8 miles to King Road West.