The Currin Bridge was named after an early pioneer family in the area.
Nels Roney constructed the first covered bridge at this site in 1883 for $1,935 and was replaced in 1925 at a cost of $4,025.
Architectural highlights include single piece hand-hewn chords and cross-wise planking on the approach.
Lane County closed the bridge to traffic when it was bypassed by a concrete span.
In late 1987, the bridge was mothballed by removing an approach and placing a wire fence in the portal.
During the 1993-95 Oregon Covered Bridge Program, Lane County received a $48,000 grant to rehabilitate and re-open
the bridge to pedestrian traffic. Work items included truss repairs, a new rail system, a new synthetic roof, repaired siding and house
Go four miles southeast of Cottage Grove on Row River Road to the intersection of Layng Road.
The bridge crosses the Row River at this location and is located one mile from the Mosby Creek Bridge, which is also on Layng Road.