Built in 1920 at a cost of $4,125 by Walter and Miller Sorenson, the Mosby Creek Bridge is Lane County’s oldest covered bridge.
Spliced chords and steel rod cross-braces on the upper chords of the bridge are modifications of the basic Howe truss design.
The span was capped with a corrugated metal roof.
In 2002, the roof was replaced with synthetic roofing material, and other repairs were made.
Design elements include semi-circular portal arches, ribbon openings at the roofline, and board-and-batten siding.
Mosby Creek was named for David Mosby, a pioneer of 1853 who staked claim to 1,600 acres east of the present city of Cottage Grove.
Travel one mile east of Cottage Grove on Row River Road.
Follow the sign to Mosby Creek Road by turning right, and crossing the railroad track.
Turn left on Mosby Creek Road and travel southeast two miles to the bridge.
Alternately, from Currin Bridge continue southwest on Layng Road to Mile Point 0.2 to Mosby Creek Bridge.